Conference Expired
Sorry, this conference advert has now expired.

IAAE 2017

International Association for Applied Econometrics
Sapporo - Japan
26th June 2017 - 29th June 2017

Following the success of the past three Annual Conference of the International Association for Applied Econometrics, our Fourth Annual Conference will be locally organized by Hokkaido University, and held at Hotel Emisia, Sapporo, Japan, on June 26-29, 2017.

The main aims of IAAE are to advance the education of the public in the subject of econometrics and its applications to a variety of fields in economics, in particular, but not exclusively, by advancing and supporting research in that field, and disseminating the results of such useful research to the public.

The IAAE conference brings together leading researchers in the field and is a major forum where all aspects of econometrics (theory and practice) are discussed and debated.

The conference will be hosted by Hokkaido University and held at Hotel Emisia, Sapporo, Japan, on June 26-29, 2017. For further logistic information, please contact, or visit the local organizers' website at

Full Paper Submission Procedure
Authors are invited to submit theoretical and empirical papers on the suggested topics (submission of abstracts or synopses will not be accepted). Papers will be evaluated and selected by the committee members in their specific area.

Papers should be submitted electronically (pdf only) no later than 11:59 pm ET, February 1, 2017 to:

Authors should specify if they are or not willing to present their paper in poster sessions or only in regular sessions.

Student Submission
Graduate students should indicate so when they submit their papers to the IAAE Conference, on the Conference Maker site, as this will make them eligible to receive travel sponsorship on a competitive basis, and to participate in the Student Prize contest.

Student Prize
The IAAE will award a 500 USD prize for the best paper presented by a graduate student in a regular or poster session. To be eligible, candidates' paper submissions should be followed up by a letter from a professor certifying that the submitter is a graduate student in good standing. Papers co-authored with senior economists will not be considered. The paper should be submitted at the conference website. The letter should be submitted electronically to Marcelle Chauvet at The subject line must be 2017 IAAE Student Prize Award. The winner will be announced during the conference.

IAAE Lecture
Mark Watson, Princeton University

Keynote Speakers
Yacine Ait-Sahalia, Princeton University
Graham Elliott, University of California San Diego
Bruce Hansen, University of Wisconsin
Peter Hansen, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Hidehiko Ichimura, University of Tokyo
Azeem Shaikh, University of Chicago
Herman van Dijk, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Jeffrey M. Wooldridge, Michigan State University

Fabio Canova, Director of Training, Florence School of Banking and Finance; Director, Budapest School of Central Banking Studies, Professor at BI Norwegian Business School, and Director of IAAE
Marcelle Chauvet, Professor, University of California Riverside, and Director of IAAE
Thierry Magnac, Professor, Toulouse School of Economics, and Director of IAAE
Hashem Pesaran, John Elliot Distinguished Chair of Economics, and Director of USC Dornsife Institute of New Economic Thinking, University of Southern California, and Director of IAAE
Barbara Rossi, Professor, ICREA-Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona GSE, CREI, and Director of IAAE
Mark Watson, Howard Harrison and Gabrielle Snyder Beck Professor of Economics and Public Affairs, Princeton University, and Director of IAAE
Jonathan Wright, Professor, Johns Hopkins University, and Director of IAAE

Local Organizers
Yukiko Abe, Hokkaido University
Mototsugu Fukushige, Osaka University
Susumu Imai, University of Technology Sydney
Yuka Ohno, Hokkaido University
Tomoaki Nakatani, Hokkaido University
Daiju Narita, Hokkaido University
Hisamitsu Saito, Hokkaido University
Toyoichiro Shirota, Hokkaido University
Shingo Takagi, Hokkaido University
Shinya Tanaka, Otaru University of Commerce
Kumiko Tsukada, Hokkaido University

Program Chairs
Siem Jan Koopman, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, CREATES Aarhus University
Edward Vytlacil, Yale University

Program Committee
Jason Abrevaya, University of Texas at Austin
Heather Anderson, Monash University
Peter Arcidiacono, Duke University
Christian Be



International Association for Applied Econometrics


Sapporo, Japan



Start Date:

26th June 2017

End Date:

29th June 2017

Related Economics Jobs

Assistant Professor in Applied Economics
Central European University
Budapest, Hungary

Business Administration/Economics Instructor
Ohlone College
Fremont, United States

Stay up to date

Be first for the best economics jobs
Access us using our feeds and apps